Posted by: Trudy Prevost | September 3, 2013

The Science of Pregnancy Yoga

1st download 559

 

I had wonderful births. Birthing was an intense but manageable experience for both children. I used yoga through out my pregnancy as well as after to keep my body fit.

I used yoga techniques during my birth to assist the transitions in my body. When I arrived at the hospital both times I was told you are too calm you are not ready but when they checked I was 10 cm dilated and very ready! 🙂

I went home directly after for one birth and the next day for the other. I did not experience post partum depression and the recovery process was quick and easy.

One of the reasons I took a 2 year or Masters Degree in Teaching Yoga is I wanted to share the wonderful experiences I had during pregnancy and after. My training included Pregnancy Yoga.

Many studies have now backed up my experience:

2016
Experts from the University of Tokyo found: salivary cortisol and alpha-amylase  decreased significantly following each yoga class. The scores for negative dimensions of mood (Trait-Anxiety, Depression, Anger-Hostility, Fatigue, and Confusion) decreased significantly while the scores of Vigor for a positive dimension of mood significantly increased.

2015

2014

2013

2012
In 2012 a study released on Yoga and Depression showed that high-risk women  who underwent 10 weeks of 90-minute sessions of mindfulness yoga found it helped to decrease depressive symptoms, and boost feelings of bonding between the mothers and their babies still in their wombs

2005
Researchers who studied 335 women who either took an hour long yoga class or walked an hour each day during their second and third trimesters found that the women who did yoga were half as likely to give birth prematurely (14 versus 29 percent) and had lower emergency C-section rates (23 versus 33 percent) than the walkers. The yoga moms also had lower blood pressure and better fetal growth rates, on average.

 

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

